Published on June 16th, 2010

People in the News

Dr. Mar Hershenson to Receive Marie R. Pistilli Award
Dr. Mar Hershenson, Vice President of Product Development in the Custom Design Business Unit at Magma Design Automation, Inc., is the recipient of the 11th annual Marie R. Pistilli Women in Electronic Design Automation (EDA) Achievement Award. The award honors Hershenson for her leadership, and for her personal and professional contributions to women in the industry. Dr. Hershenson joined Magma through its acquisition of Sabio Labs, where she was the CEO and a co-founder. She has been awarded eight patents and has others pending. She had been a Consulting Professor at Stanford University, and is also planning to continue this role.

Steve Haynes Joins Tabula as VP Worldwide Sales
Former Xilinx Senior VP Steve Haynes has come out of retirement to join Tabula's executive team as VP Worldwide Sales. With more than 35 years of semiconductor sales and marketing experience,Mr. Haynes will spearhead development of a global sales team and worldwide sales strategy. In addition to his time at Xilinx, Mr. Haynes also served in both Sales and Marketing capacities at both National Semiconductor and Silicon Systems.

William Amelio and William Mitchell Join National Semiconductor’s Board; Donald Macleod Becomes Chairman
National Semiconductor Corp. has appointed William J. Amelio and William E. Mitchell to National's board of directors. Donald Macleod, who had been serving as National's chief executive officer was named chairman of the board. William Amelio had previously been the president and CEO of Lenovo Group Limited. He has a bachelor's degree in chemical engineering from Lehigh University and a master's degree in management from Stanford University. William Mitchell was formerly chairman and CEO of Arrow Electronics Inc. Mitchell has a bachelor's degree in engineering from Princeton University and a master's degree in engineering from the University of Michigan.

IEEE’s Council on EDA to Present Four Achievement Awards During DAC
Each Recognizes Outstanding Contributions from Members of the EDA Community

The first IEEE CEDA Distinguished Service Award will be given to Professor Giovanni de Micheli, director of the Integrated Systems Centre at École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), Alfred E. Dunlop of Crossbow Consulting and Dick Smith, now retired. The three are being recognized for their efforts to create CEDA.


This year’s A. Richard Newton Technical Impact Award, awarded jointly by CEDA and the ACM Special Interest Group on Design Automation (SigDA), will be given to Dr. Randal E. Bryant, Dean and University Professor of the School of Computer Science at Carnegie Mellon University. The award recognizes Dr. Bryant for developing Reduced Ordered Binary Decision Diagrams. Dr. Bryant will be given the Phil Kaufman Award, presented by CEDA and the Electronic Design Automation Consortium, during the session.

CEDA also recognizes the elevation of Professor Andrew B. Kahng from the University of California at San Diego to IEEE Fellow. He will be honored for his contributions to the design for manufacturability of integrated circuits and the technology roadmap of semiconductors.


John E. Bourgoin Joins Micrel’s Board of Directors
Micrel, Inc. announced that John E. Bourgoin has been elected to its board of directors. Mr. Bourgoin has more than 35 years of management and executive experience in semiconductor and high tech industries. He recently served as Chief Executive Officer and President of MIPS Technologies, Inc. Prior to this, he was a Senior Vice President of Silicon Graphics, Inc. He also worked for Advanced Micro Devices, Inc., in various positions including Group Vice President.

Sharp Names Kozo Takahashi Chairman and CEO
Sharp Electronics Corporation has appointed Kozo Takahashi to Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of SEC. He replaces Doug Koshima, who has transferred to a new assignment as General Manager, Central & South America for Sharp Corporation, Japan. Mr. Takahashi has spent 30 years with Sharp Corporation. He will oversee overall direction, management and administration of all corporate operations for the company's various divisions, and will be responsible for the strategic vision for the company.

Alan Willson to Receive 2010 IEEE Leon K. Kirchmayer Teaching Award
Alan N. Willson Jr., a researcher and educator who has inspired and mentored successful graduate students who have impacted both academia and industry, is being honored by IEEE with the 2010 IEEE Leon K. Kirchmayer Graduate Teaching Award. IEEE is the world’s largest technical professional association. A professor at the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA) for the past 37 years, Willson has supervised 32 Ph.D. dissertations and over 35 master’s theses in the area of circuits and systems. Willson also created and taught UCLA’s first graduate courses on digital signal processing, and his current courses produce graduates who are highly sought after by circuits and communications companies.

Tech Videos

©2018 Extension Media. All Rights Reserved. PRIVACY POLICY | TERMS AND CONDITIONS